Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  5

Beyond Lies the Wub

The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick: Book 1

Philip K. Dick

The first volume of the definitive five-book set of the complete collected stories of the twentieth century's greatest SF author. A matchless display of Philip K. Dick's quirky, humorous, idiosyncratically philosophical world view.

With one exception, all the stories here were written over a nine-month period between 1951 and 1952, when Dick was in his early twenties and making his first impact as a writer.

Table of Contents:

  • Stability
  • Roog
  • The Little Movement
  • Beyond Lies the Wub
  • The Gun
  • The Skull
  • The Defenders
  • Mr. Spaceship
  • Piper in the Woods
  • The Infinites
  • The Preserving Machine
  • Expendable
  • The Variable Man
  • The Indefatigable Frog
  • The Crystal Crypt
  • The Short Happy Life of the Brown Oxford
  • The Builder
  • Meddler
  • Paycheck
  • The Great C
  • Out in the Garden
  • The King of Elves
  • Colony
  • Prize Ship
  • Nanny

Second Variety

The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick: Book 2

Philip K. Dick

The stories within SECOND VARIETY were written between 1952 and 1955, while America was in the grip of McCarthyism. The concerns of the time are reflected in stories such as "Second Variety", which tells of an endless war fought by ever more cunning and sophisticated robots, or "Imposter" where a man accused of being an alien spy finds his whole identity called into question. Using his marvelously varied, quirky and idiosyncratic style, Dick speaks up for ordinary people against militarism, paranoia and xenophobia.

Table of Contents:

  • The Cookie Lady
  • Beyond the Door
  • Second Variety
  • Jon's World
  • The Cosmic Poachers
  • Progeny
  • Some Kinds of Life
  • Martians Come in Clouds
  • The Commuter
  • The World She Wanted
  • A Surface Raid
  • Project: Earth
  • The Trouble with Bubbles
  • Breakfast at Twilight
  • A Present for Pat
  • The Hood maker
  • Of Withered Apples
  • Human Is
  • Adjustment Team
  • The Impossible Planet
  • Imposter
  • James P. Crow
  • Planet for Transients
  • Small Town
  • Souvenir
  • Survey Team
  • Prominent Author

The Father-Thing

The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick: Book 3

Philip K. Dick

The third volume of the definitive five-book set of the complete collected stories of the twentieth century's greatest SF author, with twenty-three tales which were written in little more than a year before Philip K. Dick's first novel, "Solar Lottery" was published in 1956. Many of these stories are previously uncollected, but also included here are some of Dick's most famous pieces, like "Foster, You're Dead", a powerful extrapolation of nuclear war hysteria, and "The Golden Man", a very different story about a super-evolved mutant human.

Table of Contents:

  • Fair Game
  • The Hanging Stranger
  • The Eyes Have It
  • The Golden Man
  • The Turning Wheel
  • The Last of the Masters
  • The Father-Thing
  • Strange Eden
  • Tony and the Beetles
  • Null-O
  • To Serve the Master
  • Exhibit Piece
  • The Crawlers
  • Sales Pitch
  • Shell Game
  • Upon the Dull Earth
  • Foster, You're Dead
  • Pay for the Printer
  • War Veteran
  • The Chromium Fence
  • Misadjustment
  • A World of Talent
  • Psi-Man Heal My Child!

The Days of Perky Pat

The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick: Book 4

Philip K. Dick

This fourth volume of the definitive five-book set of the complete collected stories of the twentieth century's greatest SF author covers a wide span, from late 1954 through to 1963. Those were the years during which Dick began writing novels prolifically and his short story output lessened. The title story of this collection is being made into the Steven Spielberg-directed movie of the same name, while "The Days of Perky Pat" inspired one of Dick's greatest works, the novel "The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch. "The Penultimate Truth" grew from "The Mold of Yancy". Philip K. Dick is shown at his incomparable prime in this stunning collection.

Table of Contents:

  • Autofac
  • Service Call
  • Captive Market
  • The Mold of Yancy
  • The Minority Report
  • Recall Mechanism
  • The Unreconstructed M
  • Explorers We
  • War Game
  • If There Were No Benny Cemoli
  • Novelty Act
  • Waterspider
  • What the Dead Men Say
  • Orpheus with Clay Feet
  • The Days of Perky Pat
  • Stand-By
  • What'll We Do with Ragland Park?
  • Oh, to Be a Blobel!

We Can Remember It for You Wholesale

The Collected Stories of Philip K. Dick: Book 5

Philip K. Dick

Many thousands of readers consider Philip K. Dick the greatest science fiction mind on any planet. Since his untimely death in 1982, interest in Dick's works has continued to mount and his reputation has been further enhanced by a growing body of critical attention. The Philip K. Dick Award is now given annually to a distinguished work of science fiction, and the Philip K. Dick Society is devoted to the study and promulgation of his works.

This collection includes all of the writer's earliest short and medium-length fiction (including some previously unpublished stories) covering the years 1952-1955. These fascinating stories include We Can Remember It for You Wholesale, The Cookie Lady, The World She Wanted, and many others.

Also published as The Little Black Box.

Table of Contents:

  • Introduction (The Little Black Box) - (1987) - essay by Thomas M. Disch
  • The Little Black Box - (1964) - novelette
  • The War With the Fnools - (1964) - short story
  • A Game of Unchance - (1964) - novelette
  • Precious Artifact - (1964) - short story
  • Retreat Syndrome - (1965) - novelette
  • A Terran Odyssey - (1987) - novelette
  • Your Appointment Will Be Yesterday - (1966) - novelette
  • Holy Quarrel - (1966) - novelette
  • We Can Remember It for You Wholesale - (1966) - novelette
  • Not by Its Cover - (1968) - short story
  • Return Match - (1967) - short story
  • Faith of Our Fathers - (1967) - novelette
  • The Story to End All Stories for Harlan Ellison's Anthology Dangerous Visions - (1968) - short story
  • The Electric Ant - (1969) - short story
  • Cadbury, the Beaver Who Lacked - (1987) - short story
  • A Little Something for Us Tempunauts - (1974) - novelette
  • The Pre-Persons - (1974) - novelette
  • The Eye of the Sibyl - (1987) - short story
  • The Day Mr. Computer Fell Out of Its Tree - (1987) - short story
  • The Exit Door Leads In - (1979) - short story
  • Chains of Air, Web of Aether - (1980) - novelette
  • Strange Memories of Death - (1984) - short story
  • I Hope I Shall Arrive Soon - (1980) - short story (variant of Frozen Journey)
  • Rautavaara's Case - (1980) - short story
  • The Alien Mind - (1981) - short story
  • Notes (The Little Black Box) - (1987) - essay