Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Andy Lane

Added By: Rhondak101
Last Updated: Rhondak101

Andy Lane

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Andrew Lane
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: British


Andrew Lane (born 1963), who also writes as Andy Lane, is a British author and journalist. He has written a number of spin-off novels in theVirgin New Adventures range and audio dramas for Big Finish based on the BBC science fiction television series Doctor Who (and a novel for the Doctor Who spin-off Torchwood), as well as assorted non fiction books based upon popular film and TV franchises such as James Bond. He has also written TV storylines and scripts for the Sky One science fiction series Space Island One.

During 2009 Macmillan Books announced that Andrew Lane would be writing a series of books focusing on the early life of Sherlock Holmes. The series was developed in conjunction with the estate of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Andy had already shown an extensive knowledge of the Holmes character and continuity in his Virgin Books novel All-Consuming Fire in which he created The Library of St. John the Beheaded as a meeting place for the worlds of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor Who. The first book in the 'Young Sherlock Holmes' series, Death Cloud, was published in the UK in June 2010 (February 2011 in the USA),with the second, Red Leech, published in the UK in November of that year (with a US publication date under the title Rebel Fire of February 2012). The third book, Black Ice, was published in June 2011 in the UK while the fourth book, Fire Storm, was published originally in hardback in October 2011 with a paperback publication in March 2012. The fifth book, Snake Bite was published in hardback in October 2012 and the sixth book, Knife Edge was published in September 2013. Death Cloud was short-listed for both the 2010 North East Book Award. (coming second by three votes) and the 2011 Southampton's Favourite Book Award. Black Ice won the 2012 Centurion Book Award.

Early in 2012 Macmillan Children's Books announced that they would be publishing a new series by Andrew Lane, beginning in 2013. The 'Lost World' books will follow disabled 15-year-old Calum Challenger, who is co-ordinating a search from his London bedroom to find creatures considered so rare that many do not believe they exist. Calum's intention is to use the creatures' DNA to help protect the species, but also to search for a cure for his own paralysis. His team comprises a computer hacker, a free runner, an ex-marine and a pathological liar.

Andrew Lane originally studied Physics at Warwick University, where he was a contemporary and friend of writers Justin Richards and Craig Hinton. He currently lives with his wife and son in Dorset, England.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Doctor Who Virgin Missing Adventures

 16. (1995)

 Eighth Doctor Adventures

 35. (2000)


 1. (2017)
 2. (2018)

 The New Doctor Who Adventures

 14. (1993)
 27. (1994)
 39. (1995)


 3. (2007)