Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Mark Gatiss

Added By: Rhondak101
Last Updated: Rhondak101

Mark Gatiss

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Mark Gatiss
Born: October 17, 1966
Sedgefeld, England
Occupation: Actor, Comedian, Writer
Nationality: British


Mark Gatiss (born 17 October 1966) is an English actor, comedian, screenwriter and novelist. He is known as a member of the comedy team The League of Gentlemen alongside Reece Shearsmith, Steve Pemberton and co-writer Jeremy Dyson, and has both written for and acted in the TV series Doctor Who and Sherlock, the latter of which he also co-created. Gatiss was born in Sedgefield, County Durham, England. He grew up opposite the Edwardian psychiatric hospital where his father worked. His family background was working class. His childhood passions included watching Doctor Who and Hammer Horror films on television, reading Sherlock Holmes and H.G. Wells, and collecting fossils. All of these interests have fuelled his creative work as an adult. Gatiss is openly gay and was featured on The Independent on Sunday's Pink List of influential gay people in the UK in 2010 and 2011. He is in a civil partnership with actor Ian Hallard. The couple has a Labrador Retriever called Bunsen. He once built a Victorian laboratory in their West London home, as the fulfillment of another childhood dream. His first non-Doctor Who fiction novel, The Vesuvius Club, was published in 2004, for which he was nominated in the category of Best Newcomer in the 2006 British Book Awards. A follow-up, The Devil in Amber, was released on 6 November 2006. It transports the main character, Lucifer Box, from the Edwardian era in the first book to the roaring Twenties/Thirties. A third and final Lucifer Box novel, Black Butterfly, was published on 3 November 2008 by Simon & Schuster.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Lucifer Box

 1. (2004)
 2. (2006)
 3. (2008)

 The New Doctor Who Adventures

 8. (1992)
 31. (1994)

 Past Doctor Adventures

 6. (1997)
 28. (2000)