Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Kaoru Kurimoto

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: gallyangel

Kaoru Kurimoto

Biography | Works in WWEnd | Images | Videos | Search

Full Name: Karoru Kurimoto
Born: February 13, 1953
Tokyo, Japan
Died: May 26, 2009
Tokyo, Japan
Occupation: Writer, Critic


Kurimoto was born in Tokyo and studied literature at Waseda University, graduating in 1975. Still in her twenties, she won the Gunzo Prize for New Writers (Criticism) in 1977, using the pen name Azusa Nakajima. She won the Edogawa Rampo Award in 1978 for "Our Era". This spectacular introduction to the literary world drew a lot of attention, especially as she was the youngest ever winner of the Edogawa Rampo Award. Her use of two pen names was also discussed, and shortly after she won the Rampo prize, Heibon Panchi magazine featured a conversation between the "two" writers.

Kurimoto is known for having written nearly 400 books since she began her career. She wrote in several genres, including science fiction, fantasy, horror, mystery, yaoi and Japanese-style historical romance.

Her writing shows the influence of Mori Mari, with a number of her works featuring homosexual love. Her 1979 novel, Mayonaka no Tenshi (Midnight Angel) played an important part in the creation of the shonen-ai/yaoi genres; a "pioneering interest" in these newly forming styles before they became widely popular. She has also supported yaoi in her work under the Nakajima pen name. She was also heavily involved with the first issue of the yaoi magazine in June in 1978. She contributed stories and criticism as Kaoru Kurimoto and Azusa Nakajima, as well as using a number of other pseudonyms.

She died on May 26, 2009, aged 56, in a Tokyo hospital, from pancreatic cancer, which was diagnosed in 2007. She had been writing the 130th volume of the Guin Saga up until May 23, 2009. Kurimoto was given a special award posthumously by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of Japan association.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 The Guin Saga

 1. (1979)
 2. (2008)
 3. (2008)
 4. (2008)
 5. (2008)


No images currently exist for this author. Be the first to add one.

Submit an Image


No videos currently exist for this author. Be the first to submit a YouTube YouTube link.

Submit a Video Link from YouTube