Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Dean Wesley Smith

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: Engelbrecht

Dean Wesley Smith

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Dean Wesley Smith
Born: November 10, 1950
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Dean Wesley Smith also writes under the pen name of Sandy Schofield

Dean Wesley Smith is a science fiction author, known primarily for his Star Trek novels, film novelizations, and other novels of licensed properties such as Smallville, Spider-Man, X-Men, Aliens, Roswell, Men in Black, and Quantum Leap. He is also known for a number of his original novels, such as The Tenth Planet series, on which he collaborated with his wife, author Kristine Kathryn Rusch. They have also collaborated on other novels, including some of their Star Trek books.

Smith's film novelizations include Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within, The Rundown, Steel, The Core, and X-Men.

His Star Trek novels include original books in series adapted from all five of the live action television series: the original series, The Next Generation, Deep Space Nine, Voyager and Enterprise. He has also written books in the Star Trek: Starfleet Corps of Engineers series, and has edited the contest anthology series, Star Trek: Strange New Worlds.

Smith's stories can also be found in almost 20 different anthologies, such as Journeys to the Twilight Zone (1992), The Book of Kings (1995), and Past Lives, Present Tense. He also wrote 4 books with his wife under the name Sandy Schofield.

Rusch and Smith operated Pulphouse Publishing for many years and edited the original (hardback) incarnation of Pulphouse Magazine; they won a World Fantasy Award in 1989. In 1992, Smith was the founding publisher of Tomorrow Speculative Fiction before selling the magazine to editor Algis Budrys's UniFont.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Star Trek: Crossovers: Day of Honor

 0. (1999)
 4. (1997)

 Star Trek: Crossovers: Section 31

 2. (2001)

 Star Trek: Crossovers: The Captain's Table

 0. (2000)
 3. (1998)

 Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

 4. (1993)
 14. (1996)

 Star Trek: Enterprise

 2. (2002)

 Star Trek: Starfleet Corps of Engineers

 1. (2002)

 Star Trek: Strange New Worlds

 1. (1998)
 2. (1999)
 3. (2000)
 4. (2001)
 5. (2002)
 6. (2003)
 7. (2004)
 8. (2005)
 9. (2006)
 10. (2007)

 Star Trek: The Next Generation

 0. (2002)
 41. (1996)

 Star Trek: The Next Generation: Double Helix

 2. (1999)

 Star Trek: The Original Series

 78. (1996)

 Star Trek: The Original Series: New Earth

 2. (2000)
 5. (2000)

 Star Trek: Video Game Novelizations

 1. (1996)

 Star Trek: Voyager

 0. (1999)
 2. (1995)
 15. (1998)

 The Tenth Planet

 1. (1999)
 2. (2000)
 3. (2000)

 Vor - The Maelstrom

 3. (2000)

 Writers of the Future

 39. (2023)