Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Alan Smale

Added By: valashain
Last Updated: valashain

Alan Smale

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Alan Smale
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: British


Alan Smale writes science fiction and fantasy, currently focusing on alternate history and historical fantasy. His novella of a Roman invasion of ancient America, "A Clash of Eagles", won the 2010 Sidewise Award for Alternate History, and the first book in a trilogy set in the same universe, CLASH OF EAGLES, was published by Del Rey (in the US) and Titan Books (in the UK and Europe) in March 2015. Sequels EAGLE IN EXILE and EAGLE AND EMPIRE are scheduled to appear in 2016 and 2017.

Alan's short fiction has appeared in Asimov's, Realms of Fantasy (six times), Abyss & Apex (twice), Paradox, Writers of the Future 13, Podcastle and Pseudopod and numerous other magazines and original anthologies, and his non-fiction science pieces about terraforming and killer asteroids have appeared in Lightspeed. His Asimov's novella set (mostly) in near-future Asia, "The Mongolian Book of the Dead", and his historical fantasy starring Ben Franklin, "A Trade in Serpents" from RoF, were both featured on Locus Magazine's Recommended Reading List. Reading copies of both stories are available on this site, as well as several other stories that have made best-of-year lists.

Born and raised in England, Alan lives in Maryland and works as an astrophysicist and data archive manager at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center. In what is humorously referred to as his 'spare time', Alan also sings bass and serves as Business Manager for high-energy vocal band The Chromatics, who have performed at various science fiction conventions (Balticon, Shore Leave, Farpoint) and were Music Guests of Honor at Philcon.

Alan is represented by Caitlin Blasdell of Liza Dawson Associates Literary Agency.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 The Hesperian Trilogy

 1. (2015)
 2. (2016)
 3. (2017)