Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Brad Strickland

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: gallyangel

Brad Strickland

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: William Bradley Strickland
Born: October 27, 1947
New Holland, Georgia, USA
Occupation: Writer, Teacher, Actor
Nationality: American


William Bradley "Brad" Strickland is an American writer known primarily for fantasy and science fiction. His speculative fiction is published as by Brad Strickland except one novel as by Will Bradley. By a wide margin his work most widely held in WorldCat participating libraries is The Sign of the Sinister Sorcerer (Dial Books, 2008), which concluded the Lewis Barnavelt series created by John Bellairs (1938-1991).

Strickland was born in New Holland, Georgia. His first publication in the speculative fiction genre was "Payment Deferred", as by Bradley Strickland in the May 1982 issue of Asimov's Science Fiction. His first novel, To Stand Beneath the Sun, was published in 1985. Since, he has written or co-written sixty-plus novels and more than a hundred short stories. His 1992 published as by Will Bradley, Ark Liberty, "treats the ecocatastrophic ... near-death of Earth with melodramatic panache, pitting its scientist hero against suicidal governments and embedding him--after his physical death--into the eponymous undersea biome as its Computer mentor and spirit, while centuries pass."

From 1992 Strickland completed four Lewis Barnavelt and Johnny Dixon novels that were at least outlined by John Bellairs; he followed with nine more, bringing both series to twelve volumes. Beginning in 1996 he has created his own stories using the already-established characters. He is also credited for writing novels for the Wishbone series.

His 2000 book, When Mack Came Back, won Strickland the 2001 Georgia Author of the Year Award, Children's/Young Adult Division honor. In 2002, Strickland and Thomas E. Fuller began the Pirate Hunter series and, later, the Mars Year One series. Mr. Fuller died before all the books were published.

Strickland is a Professor of English at Gainesville State College in Oakwood, Georgia. He is an active member of the Atlanta Radio Theatre Company, writing, adapting and acting in numerous audio drama projects.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Lewis Barnavelt

 4. (1993)
 5. (1993)
 6. (1995)
 7. (1998)
 8. (2000)
 9. (2001)
 10. (2003)
 11. (2006)
 12. (2008)

 Star Trek: Deep Space Nine: Young Adult

 1. (1994)
 2. (1994)

 Star Trek: Starfleet Academy

 1. (1996)

 Star Trek: The Next Generation: Starfleet Academy

 8. (1995)
 9. (1995)