Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Ian McEwan

Added By: Engelbrecht
Last Updated: Engelbrecht

Ian McEwan

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Ian Russell McEwan
Born: June 21, 1948
Aldershot, England
Occupation: Novelist, screenwriter
Nationality: British


Ian Russell McEwan (CBE, FRSA, FRSL) is an English novelist and screenwriter. In 2008, The Times featured him on its list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945" and The Daily Telegraph ranked him number 19 in its list of the "100 most powerful people in British culture".

McEwan began his career writing sparse, Gothic short stories. The Cement Garden (1978) and The Comfort of Strangers (1981), his first two novels, earned him the nickname "Ian Macabre". These were followed by three novels of some success in the 1980s and early 1990s. His novel Enduring Love (1997) was adapted into an eponymous film. He won the Man Booker Prize with Amsterdam (1998). His following novel, Atonement (2001), garnered acclaim and was adapted into an Oscar-winning film starring Keira Knightley and James McAvoy. This was followed by Saturday (2005), On Chesil Beach (2007), Solar (2010), Sweet Tooth (2012), The Children Act (2014), Nutshell (2016), and Machines Like Me (2019). He was awarded the Jerusalem Prize in 2011.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works