Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Jo Clayton

Added By: valashain
Last Updated: illegible_scribble

Jo Clayton

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Patricia Josephine Clayton
Born: February 15, 1939
Modesto, California, USA
Died: February 13, 1998
Portland, Oregon, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Jo Clayton, whose parents named her after Jo in Little Women, was born and raised in Modesto, California. She and her three sisters shared a room and took turns telling each other bedtime stories. One of her sisters noted that Jo's stories were the best, and often contained science fiction and fantasy elements.

Clayton graduated from the University of California in 1963, Summa Cum Laude, and started teaching English, Latin, and history at a high school near Los Angeles.

In 1969, after a religious experience, she moved to New Orleans, Louisiana, joining the teaching order Sisters of Mount Carmel as a novice. She left three years later, before taking final orders. During her time in New Orleans, Clayton sold sketches and paintings in Pioneer Square to supplement her income. She also taught English and art at a local high school.

After being robbed several times, Clayton moved to Portland, Oregon in 1983. She remained there for the rest of her life.

Clayton was diagnosed with multiple myeloma in 1996. Jo continued to write during her year and a half in the hospital. She finished Drum Calls, the second book of the Drums of Chaos series, and was halfway through the third and final book when she lost her struggle with multiple myeloma in February, 1998.

Literary executor Katherine Kerr made arrangements with established author Kevin Andrew Murphy to finish the third book of the Drums of Chaos series. It is now completed.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works



 1. (1993)
 2. (1994)
 3. (1994)


 0. (1985)
 1. (1977)
 2. (1978)
 3. (1978)
 4. (1979)
 5. (1980)
 6. (1981)
 7. (1983)
 8. (1984)
 9. (1986)

 Drinker of Souls

 1. (1986)
 2. (1988)
 3. (1989)

 Duel of Sorcery

 1. (1982)
 2. (1983)
 3. (1985)

 Shadith's Quest

 1. (1990)
 2. (1990)
 3. (1991)


 1. (1995)
 2. (1995)
 3. (1996)


 1. (1986)
 2. (1987)
 3. (1987)

 Wild Magic

 1. (1991)
 2. (1992)
 3. (1993)