Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books

H. G. Wells Classic Collection II

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: Administrator

H. G. Wells Classic Collection II

Purchase this book through Purchase this book from Purchase this book from
Author: H. G. Wells
Publisher: Gollancz, 2011

This book does not appear to be part of a series. If this is incorrect, and you know the name of the series to which it belongs, please let us know.

Submit Series Details

Book Type: Omnibus
Genre: Science-Fiction
Sub-Genre Tags:
Avg Member Rating:
(0 reads / 0 ratings)


A second omnibus collecting more of H.G. Wells' best-loved works, cornerstones of early science fiction which are perfect for collectors and aficionados of great SF

Four novels from the grandfather of science fiction are collected here in one package. In the Days of the Comet is a 1906 story in which the vapors of a comet bring about a profound and lasting transformation in the attitudes and perspectives of humankind. The 1923 novel Men Like Gods features a journalist who finds himself in a utopian parallel universe, and as the utopian attitudes begin to have their effect on him, he finds that he and his fellow travelers may be having their own effect upon the utopia. The 1910 dystopian tale The Sleeper Awakes centers on a man who sleeps for 203 years, waking up in a completely transformed London, where he has become the richest man in the world. Lastly, The War in the Air, from 1907, is notable for its prophetic ideas, images, and concepts, in particular the use of the aircraft for the purpose of warfare and the coming of World War I.

Table of Contents:


No excerpt currently exists for this novel.


There are currently no reviews for this novel. Be the first to submit one! You must be logged in to submit a review in the BookTrackr section above.


No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel.