open
Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books

Bad Glass
Purchase this book from Amazon.com Purchase this book from Amazon.co.uk Purchase this book for Kindle

Book added by: Administrator
Last updated by:

Bad Glass

Synopsis | Excerpt | Reviews | Images

Author: Richard E. Gropp
Publisher: Ballantine Del Rey, 2012
Series:

This book does not appear to be part of a series. If this is incorrect, and you know the name of the series to which it belongs, please let us know.

Submit Series Details

Book Type: Novel
Genre: Horror
Sub-Genre Tags:
Awards:  
Lists:  
Links:
Avg Member Rating:
(1 reads / 0 ratings)



Synopsis

One of the most hauntingly original dark fantasy debuts in years-perfect for fans of Lost and Mark Danielewski’s cult classic, House of Leaves.

Something has happened in Spokane. The military has evacuated the city and locked it down. Even so, disturbing rumors and images seep out, finding their way onto the Internet, spreading curiosity, skepticism, and panic. For what they show is-or should be-impossible: strange creatures that cannot exist, sudden disappearances that violate the laws of physics, human bodies fused with inanimate objects, trapped yet still half alive. . . .

Dean Walker, an aspiring photographer, sneaks into the quarantined city in search of fame. What he finds will change him in unimaginable ways. Hooking up with a group of outcasts led by a beautiful young woman named Taylor, Dean embarks on a journey into the heart of a mystery whose philosophical implications are as terrifying as its physical manifestations. Even as he falls in love with Taylor-a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself-his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose. Or perhaps it is Spokane’s grip on the world that is coming undone.

Now, caught up in a web of interlacing secrets and betrayals, Dean, Taylor, and their friends must make their way through this ever-shifting maze of a city, a city that is actively hunting them down, herding them toward a shocking destiny.


Excerpt

00

This is the photograph you know:

The soldier's shirt has been torn open. There are bloodred trenches scoured across his flesh--gouge marks, the work of his own fingernails. And there, right in the middle of his chest, is an arm sprouting up from his breastbone. It's a thin white arm--sickly pale, like something that's never seen the sun--reaching up through a puckered, jellied wound, protruding all the way up to the bicep. It looks like the whole arm has been punched up through the man's body, slammed through from the floor at his back. But the wound is small--too small for such violence.

The arm is bent slightly at the elbow--a crooked tree sprouting up from the dead man's chest. The wrist does not hang limp. Instead, it is cocked back, the gore-streaked fingers splayed with tension. Teardrops of blood hang from sharpened fingernails.

The soldier's head is tilted back as far as it will go, the tendons in his neck as taut as a hangman's rope. His expression is pure agony. His eyes are open, staring at the wall behind him.

The floor is solid concrete. The parts we can see are smooth and unblemished. And there is nothing--save that one horrifying limb--to suggest that there is anything beneath the room, anything except more concrete, earth, and rock.

It is insanity, printed and framed. Pure insanity.

The photograph is real.

I should know. I took the damn thing.

Copyright © 2012 by Richard E. Gropp


Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this novel. Be the first to submit one! You must be logged in to submit a review in the BookTrackr section above.


Images

No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel. Be the first to submit one!