open
Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books

The Miniature Wife and Other Stories

Added By: charlesdee
Last Updated: charlesdee

The Miniature Wife and Other Stories

Purchase this book through IndieBound.org Purchase this book from Amazon.com Purchase this book from Amazon.co.uk
Author: Manuel Gonzales
Publisher: Riverhead Books, 2013
Series:

This book does not appear to be part of a series. If this is incorrect, and you know the name of the series to which it belongs, please let us know.

Submit Series Details

Book Type: Collection
Genre: Fantasy
Sub-Genre Tags:
Awards:  
Lists:  
Links:
Avg Member Rating:
(1 reads / 1 ratings)



Synopsis

In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena.

The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales's exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In "The Artist's Voice" we meet one of the world's foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in "Pilot, Copilot, Writer." Sound can kill in "The Sounds of Early Morning." And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn't necessarily special — but it's often dangerous.

In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, The Miniature Wife is an unforgettable debut.


Excerpt

No excerpt currently exists for this novel. Be the first to submit one!

Submit an Excerpt


Reviews

The Miniature Wife and Other Stories

- charlesdee
  (6/1/2014)

Images

No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel. Be the first to submit one!