Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Publishers

Electric Velocipede

Electric Velocipede

Founded: 2001
Founded by:
Titles/Circulation: 0


Electric Velocipede is a Hugo-Award winning, multiple World Fantasy Award nominated, speculative fiction magazine edited by John Klima. The magazine has published fiction from writers such as Catherynne M. Valente, Jeffrey Ford, Rachel Swirsky, Jeff VanderMeer, Aliete de Bodard, Jay Lake, Liz Williams, Hal Duncan, and many more.

The magazine was founded in 2001 and has published at least two issues (and the occasional double issue) every year since. Editor/founder John Klima worked alone to make Electric Velocipede for the first 16 issues (issue 15/16 was a double issue; issue 14 was the first full-color cover). Klima even copied, collated, folded, and stapled the first five issues by hand!

Klima brought in a few slush readers after 12 issues, and started adding editorial staff with managing editor Anne Zanoni shortly thereafter. Since then, Damien Walters Grintalis, and Jamie Lackey have been added to the staff.

In 2011 the magazine published its final print issue with the 21/22 double issue. Issue 23 was the first online issue. After twelve years and twenty-seven issues, the magazine ceased publication in 2013.

Submission Details

No Submission Details currently exists for this publisher. Be the first to write one.

Submit Submission Details

Works in the WWEnd Database





Authors Published

• Aliette de Bodard  • Val Nolan  • Merrie Haskell  • Toiya Finley  • Edd Vick  • Jeffrey Ford  • Ann Leckie