Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Author: [x] Edgar Rice Burroughs
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Pirates of Venus

Venus: Book 1

Edgar Rice Burroughs

The shimmering, cloud-covered planet of Venus conceals a wondrous secret: the strikingly beautiful yet deadly world of Amtor. In Amtor, cities of immortal beings flourish in giant trees reaching thousands of feet into the sky; ferocious beasts stalk the wilderness below; rare flashes of sunlight precipitate devastating storms; and the inhabitants believe their world is saucer-shaped with a fiery center and an icy rim. Stranded on Amtor after his spaceship crashes, astronaut Carson Napier is swept into a world where revolution is ripe, the love of a princess carries a dear price, and death can come as easily from the blade of a sword as from the ray of a futuristic gun.

Pirates of Venus is the exciting inaugural volume in the last series imagined and penned by Edgar Rice Burroughs. It was originally serialized in Argosy magazine in 1932.

Lost on Venus

Venus: Book 2

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Second in the Venus series. Carson Napier begins this episode in the Room of the Seven Doors. He can leave any time he wants, but six of the seven doors lead to hideous deaths; only one is the door of life.

After navigating his way out of this logic puzzle, Carson continues his quest to rescue the planet's fairest princess. He pursues this with singlemindedness, even though more terrible dagners lie ahead; even though the princess wishes neither his help or his affection; even though her people will execute him if he enters their country! Such is the honor of an Earthman's pledge.

Carson of Venus

Venus: Book 3

Edgar Rice Burroughs

In Carson of Venus our intrepid hero and his beloved Duare flee from Havatoo but are soon attacked by a brutal female tribe; Carson is left for dead and Duare is enslaved. Carson's only mission now is to find and rescue Duare and make his escape with her to their new kingdom of Korva.

Originally serialized in 1938 in Argosy.

Escape on Venus

Venus: Book 4

Edgar Rice Burroughs

Novelization of four novelettes, all published in Fantastic Adventures:

  • "Slaves of the Fish Men" (March 1941)
  • "Goddess of Fire" (July 1941)
  • "The Living Dead" (November 1941)
  • "War on Venus" (March 1942)

With his beloved princess, Duare, at his side, Carson Napier has once again managed to escape the scheming webs of Amtor's fearsome powers – only to fall prey to a hideous race of humanoid amphibians, ruled by the dread king Tyros the Bloody.

But Carson is far more than a fugitive and a captive: he is the only Earthman to have penetrated the forbidding clouds surrounding Venus, there to become a pirate, an explorer, and finally a prince of her cities. His determination to survive the horrors of the savage world that fate has cast him onto, and to bring his lovely bride home to her people in safety, take them both through some of the most thrilling and courageous adventures ever penned by the Master of Adventure.

The Wizard of Venus

Venus: Book 5

Edgar Rice Burroughs

When Carson Napier and his Venusian princess Duare found their way to the peaceful kingdom of Korva, it seemed that they could live out their days in quiet tranquility. But tranquility was not for Carson, and when the impetuous Earthman made a routine test flight of an airplane he had designed himself, he rushed headlong into a new adventure - in which the price of failure was death...

"The Wizard of Venus" is a novelette that first appeard in 1964 in Tales of Three Planets from Canaveral Press. Ace published it in 1970 as the final volume of the Venus series, pairing it with the late novel Pirate Blood.

Table of Contents:

  • About The Wizard of Venus - essay by Richard A. Lupoff
  • Foreword - (1941) - essay by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • The Wizard of Venus - (1964) - novelette by Edgar Rice Burroughs
  • About Pirate Blood - (1970) - essay by Donald A. Wollheim
  • Pirate Blood - (1970) - novel by Edgar Rice Burroughs

Can't find the Edgar Rice Burroughs book you're looking for? Let us know the title and we'll add it to the database.