Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  7

Tales of the Wold Newton Universe

Wold Newton

Win Scott Eckert
Christopher Paul Carey

A collection of Wold Newton-inspired short stories by Farmerphiles, experts, and the Grand Master of SF himself.A real meteorite fell near Wold Newton, Yorkshire, England, on December 13, 1795, and was found to be radioactive, causing genetic mutations in the occupants of a passing coach. Many of their descendants were thus endowed with extremely high intelligence and strength, as well as an exceptional capacity and drive to perform good, or, as the case may be, evil deeds.

Table of Contents:

  • The Wold Newton Tales of Philip José Farmer - essay by Win Scott Eckert and Christopher Paul Carey
  • The Problem of the Sore Bridge -- Among Others - (1975) - novelette by Philip José Farmer (as Harry Manders)
  • A Scarletin Study - (1975) - novelette by Philip José Farmer (as Jnathan Swift Somers, III)
  • The Doge Whose Barque Was Worse Than His Bight - (1976) - novelette by Philip José Farmer (as Jonathan Swift Somers, III)
  • Skinburn - (1972) - short story by Philip José Farmer
  • The Freshman - (1979) - short story by Philip José Farmer
  • After King Kong Fell - (1973) - short story by Philip José Farmer
  • Kwasin and the Bear God - (2011) - novella by Philip José Farmer and Christopher Paul Carey
  • Into Time's Abyss - (2011) - short story by John Allen Small
  • The Last of the Guaranys - (2012) - novelette by Octavio Aragão and Carlos Orsi
  • The Wild Huntsman - (2012) - novelette by Win Scott Eckert
  • Postscript (The Wild Huntsman) - essay by Win Scott Eckert

After King Kong Fell

Wold Newton

Philip José Farmer

Nebula Award nominated short story. It originally appeared in the anthology Omega (1973), edited by Roger Elwood. The story can also be found in the anthologies Best SF: 1974 (1975), edited by Harry Harrison and Brian W. Aldiss, Nebula Award Stories Ten (1975), edited by James Gunn and The Apes of Wrath (2013), edited by Richard Klaw. It is included in the collections The Classic Philip José Farmer, 1964-1973 (1984), The Grand Adventure (1984) and The Best of Philip Jose Farmer (2006).

Tarzan Alive

Wold Newton: Book 1

Philip José Farmer

Through the tales of Edgar Rice Burroughs, generations of readers have thrilled to the adventures of Lord Greystoke (aka John Clayton, but better known as Tarzan of the Apes). In this biography Philip José Farmer pieces together the life of this fantastic man, correcting Burroughs's errors and deliberate deceptions and tracing Tarzan's family tree back to other extraordinary figures, including Sherlock and Mycroft Holmes, the Scarlet Pimpernel, Doc Savage, Nero Wolfe, and Bulldog Drummond.

Tarzan Alive offers the first chronological account of Tarzan's life, narrated in careful detail garnered from Burroughs's stories and other sources. From the ill-fated voyage that led to Greystoke's birth on the isolated African coast to his final adventures as a group captain in the RAF during World War II, Farmer constructs a comprehensive and authoritative account. Farmer's assertion that Tarzan was a real person has led him to craft a biography as well researched and compelling as that of any character from conventional history.

Doc Savage: His Apocalyptic Life

Wold Newton: Book 2

Philip José Farmer

He is the greatest hero of our time--Doc Savage!

Philip José Farmer, three-time Hugo award winner and Science Fiction Grand Master, has turned his superb research and narrative skills to one of the greatest heroes of our time: Doc Savage, the bronze champion of justice.

Now, at last, the incredible life story of the real man behind the Doc Savage pulp novels, including:

His true name and family background, covering his relationship to Lord Greystoke, Sherlock Holmes, Sam Spade, James Bond, and Fu Manchu.

Detailed information on some of his most devilish opponents--John Sunlight, the Mystic Mullah, and Mr. Wail.

A summation of some of Doc's most amazing inventions.

Biographies of the Fabulous Five--Monk, Ham, Renny, Long Tom, and Johnny--as well as the group's Lady Auxiliary and Bronze Knockout, Pat Savage!

Together with other data and brilliant deductions, Philip José Farmer offers an amazing account of this remarkable man's astonishing career!

The Adventure of the Peerless Peer

Wold Newton: Book 3

Philip José Farmer

Holmes and Watson take to the skies in the quest of the nefarious Von Bork and his weapon of dread... A night sky aerial engagement with the deadly Fokker nearly claims three brilliant lives... And an historic alliance is formed, whereby Baker Street's enigmatic mystery-solver and Greystoke, the noble savage, peer of the realm and lord of the jungle, team up to bring down the hellish hun!

The Titan reissue has been retitled as The Further Adventures of Sherlock Holmes: The Peerless Peer.

Time's Last Gift

Wold Newton Prehistory: Book 1

Philip José Farmer

Three men and a woman onboard a timeship travel from 2070 AD to 12,000 BC - a journey that could never be repeated. For the passengers, all anthropologists, it was a once-in-a-million-lifetimes expedition... a chance to study primitive man as modern man never could. But none of them was prepared for what they would discover - or for the impact of their travels in a time that had yet to come...

A novel in the Wold Newton universe, in which characters such as Sherlock Holmes, Flash Gordon, Doc Savage, James Bond and Jack the Ripper are all mysteriously connected.

Lord Tyger

Wold Newton Prehistory: Book 2

Philip José Farmer

Kidnapped by an insane millionare bent on recreating the famous Lord of the Jungle, Ras Tyger is raised in a remote African valley by people he believes to be apes.

Heroic, and beautiful, he is master of his world. And he rules his kingdom with sex, savagery, and sublime innocence. 

But the laws of nature and those of man are about to collide....