Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Marjorie Bowen

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Marjorie Bowen

Biography | Works in WWEnd | Images | Videos | Search

Full Name: Marjorie Bowen
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: British


Mrs. Gabrielle Margaret Vere Long née Campbell (1885-1952), who wrote under the pseudonym of Marjorie Bowen, was a British author who wrote historical romances, supernatural horror stories, popular history and biography. Her total output numbers over 150 volumes with the bulk of her work under the 'Bowen' pseudonym. She also wrote under the names Joseph Shearing, George R. Preedy, John Winch, Robert Paye and Margaret Campbell. As Joseph Shearing, she wrote several sinister gothic romances full of terror and mystery. Many of these stories were published as Berkley Medallion Books. Several of her books were adapted as films. Her books are much sought after by aficianados of gothic horror and received praise from critics. Her works include: The Viper of Milan: A Romance of Lombardy (1906), The Glen O' Weeping (1907), The Sword Decides! (1908), The Leopard and the Lily (1909), I Will Maintain (1910), Defender of the Faith (1911), God and the King (1911), Lover's Knots (1912), The Quest of Glory (1912), The Rake's Progress (1912), The Soldier From Virginia (1912), God's Playthings (1912), The Governor of England (1913) and A Knight of Spain (1913).

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works



No images currently exist for this author. Be the first to add one.

Submit an Image


No videos currently exist for this author. Be the first to submit a YouTube YouTube link.

Submit a Video Link from YouTube