Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Ian Tregillis

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: illegible_scribble

Ian Tregillis

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Ian Tregillis
Born: June 22, 1973
McCloud County, Minnesota, USA
Occupation: Physicist, Writer
Nationality: American


Ian Tregillis attended the University of Minnesota for both college and graduate school. Eventually the university decided it had seen quite enough of him, so it politely but firmly asked him to leave, grow up, and get a real job. Ian's parting gift was a PhD in Physics for his research on radio galaxies. After finishing his thesis, he moved to New Mexico just as soon as he found a group of people willing to hire him. He's still a bit surprised by this because he has no useful skills.

In 2005, Ian attended the Clarion Writers' Workshop in East Lansing, Michigan. There he spent six weeks living in a sweltering, slightly creepy, soon-to-be-condemned sorority house with twelve other aspiring writers. Scurvy was a problem. However, in spite of many predictions, cannibalism was not.

After Clarion, and thanks to Walter Jon Williams, he was welcomed into New Mexico's disproportionately large community of professional science fiction and fantasy writers. Although he often feels like a minor league batboy inexplicably mistaken for a professional baseball player, he has shared critiques with, and worked alongside, a long list of New Mexico writers including WJW, Daniel Abraham, Melinda Snodgrass, S. M. Stirling, Ty Franck, Victor Milán, Sage Walker, and George R. R. Martin. He is a member of GRRM's Wild Cards writing collective.

Nowadays he lives lives near Santa Fe, New Mexico, where he works as a physicist at Los Alamos National Laboratory, and where he consorts with writers, scientists, and other disreputable types.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Alchemy Wars

 1. (2015)
 2. (2015)
 3. (2016)

 The Milkweed Triptych

 0. (2010)
 1. (2010)
 2. (2012)
 3. (2013)

 Wild Cards

 20. (2009)

 Wild Cards Stories

 19. (2020)