open
Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books

The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria
Purchase this book from Amazon.com Purchase this book from Amazon.co.uk

Added By: charlesdee
Last Updated: charlesdee

The Assimilated Cuban's Guide to Quantum Santeria

Synopsis | Excerpt | Reviews | Images

Author: Carlos Hernandez
Publisher: Rosarium Publishing, 2016
Series:

This book does not appear to be part of a series. If this is incorrect, and you know the name of the series to which it belongs, please let us know.

Submit Series Details

Book Type: Collection
Genre: Science-Fiction
Sub-Genre Tags:
Awards:  
Lists:  
Links:
Avg Member Rating:
(4 reads / 1 ratings)

Arifel
4.5



Synopsis

A quirky collection of short sci-fi stories for fans of Kij Johnson and Kelly Link

Assimilation is founded on surrender and being broken; this collection of short stories features people who have assimilated, but are actively trying to reclaim their lives. There is a concert pianist who defies death by uploading his soul into his piano. There is the person who draws his mother's ghost out of the bullet hole in the wall near where she was executed. Another character has a horn growing out of the center of his forehead--punishment for an affair. But he is too weak to end it, too much in love to be moral. Another story recounts a panda breeder looking for tips. And then there's a border patrol agent trying to figure out how to process undocumented visitors from another galaxy. Poignant by way of funny, and philosophical by way of grotesque, Hernandez's stories are prayers for self-sovereignty.


Excerpt

No excerpt currently exists for this novel. Be the first to submit one!

Submit an Excerpt


Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this novel. Be the first to submit one! You must be logged in to submit a review in the BookTrackr section above.


Images

No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel. Be the first to submit one!