Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  4

Nightshades: Thirteen Journeys into Shadow

Tanith Lee

White-skinned, black-haired Sovaz is beautiful and wayward, yet seemingly soulless - as if vampirised by some unknown force. Wife of a very wealthy but older husband, she is the prize ornament of his treasure collection, yet she is toying with a naive young American lover. And while the faces of this doomed trio converge, somewhere outside the glowing casements a creature of darkness prepares to feed...

Here are a novel and twelve short stories encompassing all the richness and variety of Tanith Lee's unique talent.

This fascinating and disturbing collection casts a new and chilling light on that ancient mythical creature, the mermaid... pinpoints the ultimate peril of mankind's fascination with the domestic cat... sucks us into the pulsing horror of bricks and mortar with a life of their own... investigates the dark and marvellous legends of tree spirits, and the tantalising allure of other carnal obsessions.

Table of Contents:

  • Nightshade - (1993) - novella
  • The Mermaid - (1991) - short story
  • After the Guillotine - (1985) - short story
  • Meow - (1981) - short story
  • Il Bacio (Il Chiave) - (1983) - short story
  • A Room with a Vie - (1980) - short story
  • Paper Boat - (1978) - short fiction
  • Blue Vase of Ghosts - (1983) - novelette
  • Pinewood - (1984) - short story
  • The Janfia Tree - (1989) - short story
  • The Devil's Rose - (1988) - novelette
  • Huzdra - (1977) - short story
  • Three Days - (1984) - novelette


Nightshades: Book 1

Melissa F. Olson

Alex McKenna is the new Special Agent in Charge of the Chicago office of the Bureau of Paranormal Investigations--the division tasked with investigating crimes involving shades.

Or vampires, as they're more widely known.

Children have been going missing, and agents are routinely being slaughtered. It's up to McKenna, and some unlikely allies, to get to the bottom of the problem, and find the kids before it's too late.

Nightshades is a new gritty urban fantasy from Melissa F. Olso


Nightshades: Book 2

Melissa F. Olson

Three weeks after the events of Nightshades, things are finally beginning to settle for the Chicago branch of the BPI, but the brief respite from the horror of the previous few weeks was never destined to last.

The team gets a call from Switch Creek, WI, where a young man has been arrested on suspicion of being a shade.


Nightshades: Book 3

Melissa F. Olson

The Chicago field office of the Bureau of Preternatural Investigation is facing its deadliest challenge, yet?internal investigation! Alex and Lindy are on the hook, and on the run.

But when all of the BPI's captive vampires are broken free from their maximum security prison, and Hector finally steps out of the shadows, Alex must use every trick to stay ahead of both the BPI and the world's most dangerous shade.

Confrontation is inevitable. Success is not.