Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Author: [x] Robert Silverberg
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Robert Silverberg

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, Volume One

The Science Fiction Hall of Fame: Book 1

Robert Silverberg

The definitive collection of the best in science fiction stories between 1929-1964.

This book contains twenty-six of the greatest science fiction stories ever written. They represent the considered verdict of the Science Fiction Writers of America, those who have shaped the genre and who know, more intimately than anyone else, what the criteria for excellence in the field should be. The authors chosen for The Science Fiction Hall Fame are the men and women who have shaped the body and heart of modern science fiction; their brilliantly imaginative creations continue to inspire and astound new generations of writers and fans.

Robert Heinlein in "The Roads Must Roll" describes an industrial civilization of the future caught up in the deadly flaws of its own complexity. "Country of the Kind," by Damon Knight, is a frightening portrayal of biological mutation. "Nightfall," by Isaac Asimov, one of the greatest stories in the science fiction field, is the story of a planet where the sun sets only once every millennium and is a chilling study in mass psychology.

Originally published in 1970 to honor those writers and their stories that had come before the institution of the Nebula Awards, The Science Fiction Hall Of Fame, Volume One, was the book that introduced tens of thousands of young readers to the wonders of science fiction. Too long unavailable, this new edition will treasured by all science fiction fans everywhere.

Table of Contents:

  • Introduction - (1970) - essay by Robert Silverberg
  • A Martian Odyssey - [Tweel] - (1934) - novelette by Stanley G. Weinbaum
  • Twilight - (1934) - novelette by John W. Campbell, Jr.
  • Helen O'Loy - (1938) - shortstory by Lester del Rey
  • The Roads Must Roll - (1940) - novelette by Robert A. Heinlein
  • Microcosmic God - (1941) - novelette by Theodore Sturgeon
  • Nightfall - (1941) - novelette by Isaac Asimov
  • The Weapon Shop - (1942) - novelette by A. E. van Vogt
  • Mimsy Were the Borogoves - (1943) - novelette by Lewis Padgett
  • Huddling Place - (1944) - shortstory by Clifford D. Simak
  • Arena - (1944) - novelette by Fredric Brown
  • First Contact - (1945) - novelette by Murray Leinster
  • That Only a Mother - (1948) - shortstory by Judith Merril
  • Scanners Live in Vain - (1950) - novelette by Cordwainer Smith
  • Mars Is Heaven! - (1948) - shortstory by Ray Bradbury
  • The Little Black Bag - (1950) - novelette by C. M. Kornbluth
  • Born of Man and Woman - (1950) - shortstory by Richard Matheson
  • Coming Attraction - (1950) - shortstory by Fritz Leiber
  • The Quest for Saint Aquin - (1951) - novelette by Anthony Boucher
  • Surface Tension - (1952) - novelette by James Blish
  • The Nine Billion Names of God - (1953) - shortstory by Arthur C. Clarke
  • It's a Good Life - (1953) - shortstory by Jerome Bixby
  • The Cold Equations - (1954) - novelette by Tom Godwin
  • Fondly Fahrenheit - (1954) - novelette by Alfred Bester
  • The Country of the Kind - (1956) - shortstory by Damon Knight
  • Flowers for Algernon - (1959) - novelette by Daniel Keyes
  • A Rose for Ecclesiastes - (1963) - novelette by Roger Zelazny

Can't find the Robert Silverberg book you're looking for? Let us know the title and we'll add it to the database.