Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books by Award

Shirley Jackson Award

In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson's writing, and with permission of the author's estate, the Shirley Jackson Awards have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.

Shirley Jackson (1916-1965) wrote such classic novels as The Haunting of Hill House and We Have Always Lived in the Castle, as well as one of the most famous short stories in the English language, 'The Lottery.' Her work continues to be a major influence on writers of every kind of fiction, from the most traditional genre offerings to the most innovative literary work.

Complete Shirley Jackson Award listing from 2007-2017

About the Shirley Jackson Award

Selection Process

The Shirley Jackson Award are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics, with input from a Board of Advisors. The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology. Works must have elements of psychological suspense, horror, or dark fantasy to be considered.

Shirley Jackson Links

Submit a Link





Page: of 2 Years in List: